In-call activities

Any user participating in a call or meeting has specific controls available. The controls depend on the type of participant in the call: registered user, guest, or moderator. The controls available to you appear in the control panel at the bottom and the buttons on the right side of the In-Call window.

 

Registered User

A registered user can use the following in-call controls. NOTE: When in a moderated meeting, the moderator has complete control of in-call functions.

  • mic Turn microphone on or off mic-off-red
  • video Turn camera on or off video-off
  • share-screen Share screen or presentation
  • record Start recording (if recording is enabled)
  • end-call Leave the meeting
  • kebab  Access dial pad
  • incall-add-ch Add a participant
  • info View call details
  • meeting-ch View participant list
  •  chat-ch Chat (you will only see this button when you are in a meeting)
  • back Return to Home screen, which allows you to chat or schedule a meeting without leaving the call
 

Guest

A guest calling into a meeting has the following controls:
  • mic Turn microphone on and off mic-off-red
  • video Turn camera on and off video-off (not available with audio-only call)
  • share-screen Share screen
  • end-call Leave the call or presentation
  • kebab Access dial pad
  • meeting-ch View participant list

 

Moderator

Moderators have all of the controls that users have. When in a moderated meeting, moderator controls take precedence over user controls. Moderators have the following additional controls:

  • end-call Remove a participant from the call
  • end-call End the call for all participants
  • mic-off-red Mute and mic unmute microphone for individual participants in the call
  • mic-off-rain Mute All and mic-rain Unmute All microphone for all participants in the call
 

NOTE: Moderators see a red mic-off-red slash microphone for participants who have muted themselves and see a gray mic-off-ch slash microphone for participants who have been muted by the moderator. After a moderator unmutes a participant, the participant returns to the previous state (muted or unmuted). 

If a moderator leaves a meeting, and it is still running, any mute restrictions the moderator placed on users lifts and participants mute status returns to how it was before the moderator muted them.

Moderator Controls Best Practices

  • If the room system is the moderator, you will not have moderator controls for muting all or individual users since this is only available from the app currently.
  • We recommend assigning someone as the moderator who is not presenting so that they can control the mute settings without distracting the presenter.
  • If you have a user in the room who is logged in as the moderator and are using a room system, make sure the moderator turns their microphone off before entering the room so you do not have two live mics. Additionally, if you choose to mute all, be sure to then unmute the room system device if the presenter is speaking. If you choose to unmute all, make sure to remute the moderator's microphone so you don't have two live mics in the room.